“Planet in the 8th House – More to it, then meets the Eye”

ecfe

My credentials in the study of astrology comes from authors and writers of the early twentieth century and with Dr. Plummer of the S.R.I.A., just before the modern astrological revolution began with the new modern astrologers forging new areas of expertise.  Since I have Mercury conjunct Uranus in Gemini in the ninth house, my studies and interest in astrology can be very diverse and seem to have no connection.  Like most astrologers, my readings and studies into this ancient art never stops, from studying works of early western writers as early as the twelfth century, including William Lilly and Morin, and as diverse as looking into other systems as well.  So it was very interesting to me to read an article by Hank Friedman in the August/September 2009 issue in The Mountain Astrologer entitled “The Ruler of the Chart in Vedic Astrology’.  Luckily I had read “Ancient Hindu Astrology for the Modern Astrologer by James Braha” which gave me a foundation to build on and to understand what I was reading.

 

In Western astrology, the ruler of the ascendant or first house is called the ruler of the chart, and in Vedic astrology the ascendant is called the Lagna and the ruler, Lagnesha.  As my ruler in the Vedic systems falls in the eighth house, I have extracted the following meaning from his article with my comments.  “The 8th house is often seen as the most challenging house in Vedic astrology, and the Lagnesha here can therefore indicate a life replete with many obstacles, traumas, and personal issues.  However, a person with the Lagnesha in the 8th house may also guide others through their life difficulties, in roles such as hospice worker, crisis counselor, bankruptcy attorney, or private investigator.  In addition, a strong Lagnesha in the 8th house denotes someone gifted in ancient traditions, e.g., an herbalist, astrologer, healer, acupuncturist, etc., as well as those who are in the sex industry or have sexual charisma.  The 8th house also represents chronic issues, such as long-term financial problems, lingering illnesses, compulsion like addictions and gambling, and sexual intrigues and scandals.”

 

I not only found this to be very interesting and that it could sum up what has been happening in my life, I was wondering if I put this same system to work in a western chart and come up with a delineation that would be predictive and make sense?  Applying this method to my own tropical chart the ruler would be Mercury in the ninth House.  The meaning of the ninth also made sense as my Sun, the essence of my chart was in the eighth house.  In traditional astrology like the Vedic system the sixth, eighth, and twelfth houses are considered malefic.  The reason the eighth house is considered malefic is the fact that it makes no aspect good or bad to the first house.  The following is an excerpt for the ninth “The Lagnesha in the 9th house can bring to the individual many opportunities, great teachers, uplifting experiences, good fortune, higher education, a powerful intuition, and a deepening understanding of life and spirit.  A well-placed Lagnesha here can indicate a person who is charitable, spiritual, ethical, virtuous, honored, supported and respected.”  Thank you Hank Friedman for your thoughts.  Depending on other factors and aspects of the natal chart, how much of the definition may apply to each individual will need to be analyzed.

 

As far as my own chart, I have always been asked, if I would like to be told of the hardships that might come up, and my answer is a thousand yeses.  The problem is without understanding what detours that are laid in our path; our ability to make the right decisions is hampered.  Also by going through these difficulties we not only learn what we want or don’t want, we also begin to anticipate the problems before they manifest.  Although the difficulties of life may have been many, would I want to change the course I had, and my answer would be no.  So instead of being afraid of what the malefic can bring into one’s life, be ready to learn and grow from them.  So for those reading this article, with their rulers being in the eighth or ninth house, be happy and make the best use of it, for it is a blessing in disguise.   

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by maria on January 30, 2011 at 11:03 am

    ahmm..
    sun in scorpio house 8, pisces rising square my neptune-mercury-mc conjunction in house 9..
    sounds like…trouble!

    Reply

  2. Posted by maria on February 1, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    thank you, this is full of hope 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Agnieszka on December 2, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I am Scorpio Ascendent. Mars in Gemini- 8ht without, Sun in 8ht.
    In western chart Mars-8ht, Sun-8ht(29 degree), Mercury-8ht….Mars unaspected in the Fixstar aldebaran, Sun in Betelgeuse
    Pluto-Retro in 12…it is a focal planet of Tsquare with WenusCancer -9…oposite to MoonCapricorn 3
    Very very hard for me very often

    Reply

Leave a comment