“Jupiter Together With Saturn Helps Make Sense of the Senseless”

The weeks before the winter solstice the conversation at work seem to center around whether the Mayan prophecies would manifest, and if it did, what would really be the outcome? With the media frenzy finally coming to a halt as the days got closer to the appointed time, the smirks of ridicule were giving way to more thoughtful discussions on the matter. Some believe in the end of the world theory connected with space aliens transporting citizens to another planet and other weird, strange and unusual stories of what was about to happen. I expressed my own thoughts as an astrologer, that I felt this was an end of one age, and a beginning of another, similar to the age of Aquarius. Although I felt many believed this to be the possible answer, I had the feeling and suspected that some wanted and were hoping for something more spectacular and exciting.

As I was listening to what was being discussed, I realized from my observation of those around me that with the continuance of the global financial difficulty that it was creating a need for diversion from the worry of instability, to something more fantasy filled, even if it was ominous. It seems to me that those who accepted that the final days were at hand, thought this was a better answer, then hoping to find a solution to the situation that was eluding them. It appears to me, that knowing the final outcome, even if was negative and to our disadvantage, was more acceptable then facing an unknown future. Now that the day we have all waited for, has come and gone without any difference then any other day, it is easier to have retrospection and be more honest with oneself after the fact, especially about what was going on in our minds and emotions.

Thinking about this, I began to wonder what planets in our charts helps us get through difficult situations with a clear mind and with a feeling of optimism that would make sense of the senseless. In solving or coming to a conclusion in such matters, I have always found my self to be the best subject to study. I quickly took out my own chart to see what planets would have me see more clearly in situations that did not seem to have any logic to it. Not only is Mercury ruler of my chart, it also was the ruler of my ascendant and my midheaven, so obviously this planet would play a very import part in my life and all my dealings. Mercury may give me the ability to admit to myself what works for me, but it doesn’t give me the answer that would help me to come to any conclusions. I quickly realized it was the two planets I considered to be the odd couple in a relationship that can make the difference from hopelessness to optimism.

The major benefic Jupiter and the major malefic Saturn, whom are the two opposites that are not able to work with one another without some difficulties and yet cannot, do anything without the other was the key to the answer. A paradox among many, and yet it seems the world is full of them. For example: without darkness we would not appreciate the light, and so forth. Without the structure and discipline of Saturn we could never organize our beliefs, standards and actions into a workable system to live by. It is with this system in place that our decisions of how we will live and how well we live are expressed. Depending on the sign and the house, determines how well each planet will function in this incarnation. The strength and power of the planets will decide how we will experience the subtleties of the changes we will need to make as the new age unfolds. With Jupiter and Saturn working in unison, then only, will the planets make sense of the senseless.

Leave a Reply

