“There is no Such Thing as a Free Lunch with Saturn in the Natal Ninth House”

I have always found that when I can apply an astrological principle to my own natal chart that the definitions of the planets become alive and colorful, to such an extant that it begins to take on a life of its own.  This I find very true with Saturn in my ninth house that seems to discipline and control the way I think and at the same time gives me the freedom to roam where I want to go.  A paradox in many ways, in that the planet is my teacher and at the same time the pupil I am instructing, and where it is a major malefic, it is at the same time a major benefic in my life.  It is hard to explain as the meaning of Saturn to me encompasses time, boundaries, limitations and structure, but yet at the same time it encompasses timelessness, no boundaries, no limitations and no structure.  Saturn instills in me the faith that what I think is impossible may be possible, and that within the restrictions, unlimited possibilities are at my disposal.

This planet, like all the planets are the foundation and the building blocks to our future, it begins to release its energy, power and knowledge for our benefit at the moment of birth and we will need to become responsible as we work with it.  Unfortunately or fortunately for me, I have come to the conclusion that with Saturn, there are no free lunches.  One needs to work and be accountable for all of one’s actions and thoughts, and there are no excuses for blaming the stars for one’s predicament.  We are the cause, and the effect is our responsibility, and the planets, especially Saturn are only the indicators of our possible actions.  We still have the choices that need to be made and to be answerable for the choices we have made.  The truth of the matter is, no matter what house Saturn is placed in, there is no such thing as a free lunch.  Saturn is the way shower and points the way we need to go, but at the same time he is relentless in showing us that we need to have determination and perseverance to accomplish what is needed to reach our goals. 

My Saturn in Gemini in the ninth gives me the ability to see many sides of an idea or thought, but at the same time I need to organize my thoughts and work with them, until they are strong enough to stand on their own.  Saturn teaches me that our thoughts and ideas are like children we give birth to.  We bring them into this world and we need to nourish and protect them, until they are able to fend for themselves.  Saturn does the same for us as he guides our steps and at the same time gives us a structure to work with, in order to achieve our goals.  Although resilience is important, wisdom and the ability to adapt at a moment’s notice are some of the hidden assets of the planet.  Form is a limitation the planet has given us, but once we have master it, we are allow to go beyond it to new horizons.  Mastering what is given takes hard work and many hours of trials and errors before we are able to have the confidence to explore new areas of discoveries that are within our reach. 

Saturn gives us the ability to face the most difficult situations and turning points in our lives, but at the same time he has given us the choices to choose whether we would take that road or take another path, which might be easier.  Whatever option we decide on, Saturn is there to make us responsible for our choices.  Saturn has guided my choices and the philosophies, ideas and standards I have decided to adopt as my own, but the road there has not been easy, and is full of trials and errors.  Even at this point in my life, it is a continuing journey of discoveries to whom I am and to whom I am going to become are a constant surprise for me.  Without Saturn, the guiding light and enforcer, instructor and disciplinarian, I would have lost my way a long time ago.  My experience with Saturn has only taught me that there are no free lunches where this planet is concerned.  In a way I am happy there isn’t, for without the struggles I would not have the confidence to encounter the unknown, of what the future still has in store for me.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pisces Rising on October 14, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    I agree that I’ve worked hard for most everything I’ve obtained. But we still need to remember to look at the strengths or weaknesses of any planets within a house and how it’s aspected, etc.

    I have Saturn in Scorpio in the 9th and its ruler, my Mars, is in Pisces when the 9th house is best suited in a Jupiter sign. We know both Sagittarius and Pisces are ruled by Jupiter using traditional astrology. I think that bails me out a bit and I am appreciative for every little blessing. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

