“Is Astrology Together With the Internet an Affair Made in Heaven?”

In any age and time as long as civilization has been in existence, I am sure without a doubt that it has been said “Those were the good old days”.  Some of us who were here before the advent of the internet, have those feelings, if not a mixed bag of feelings, and some of us feel we are experiencing the good old days, right in the present moment.  I seem to find myself in the middle with awe and respect for the technological era and the advancements it has given us, but at the same time I feel something has gone amiss which is hard to pin point what.  I definitely feel we have gained more then what we have lost, but what little we have lost, might have offset everything we have accomplished so far.  Some of us have had the insight and foresight to compensate, while some of us seem not to see the problem, until we were pushed right into the situation and had our eyes opened to what was happening to us and around us. 

I was one of those caught up in the momentum of the ecstasy of having all the information I wanted at my fingertips, and with an easy click of the mouse, everything was laid out in front of me, without too much effort on my part.  The problem I ran across was an overload of information and the lack of wisdom to choose which to use and when to use it, if at all.  It is like being in a candy store or bakery shop and finding myself sampling one of everything and before I was aware of it, some have spoiled, and with others I realized I really didn’t want them in the first place.  I was caught up with the momentum of accumulating what was available, and the more that was available, the more I wanted it.  Unfortunately for me, the mind, the conscious and the subconscious doesn’t discriminate and stores all this information for later use, whether wisely or unwisely, and before I knew it I was moving into areas I have never thought about or was actually interested in. 

What I have discovered in my own use of the internet, is the hours surfing for information and knowledge and storing it in the back of my mind and my files for later use, and then rushing to the next site to read more and down load more data.  Have I really digested the material and did I actually think it through, or did I just quickly skim and try to incorporate what I could?  By rushing to the next vital information that I really thought I needed, did I throw discernment out the window?  Have I really thought through what I read and was I really able to integrate it into my delineations or was I hoping to use it sometime in the future?  Was I just storing the information, just to have it or was I really assimilating it into my own thoughts?  These thoughts kept going round and round, until I came to the conclusion that I needed to step away and look at it from a different point of view. 

I began to remember how it was like when I first took classes in astrology and the long discussions we had on each new concept that was presented.  I realized I was getting into the habit of hoarding information, instead of gathering what I needed for the moment.  Looking at my files, I began to see how much of what was being stored was something I may never put to use, and may actually be cluttering and confusing any issue in the future I may have.  I began to wonder if some of this information was a hindrance, instead of a blessing.  I began to see that my hoarding of this data was becoming an addiction that I could not control.  Besides a habit that was gaining its own impetus, it began to clutter my own thoughts.  I wonder if being exposed to all this information, it was subtly influencing me in ways that were not beneficial to me, or make me a better astrologer?

I have always felt that thoughts and ideas can gain a life of their own, by the emotions and energy we give consciously or unconsciously to it.  I personally feel that our subconscious has the power to create what it thinks by the energy we give it, and inadvertently we may give form and power to those thoughts and ideas we casually bring into existence.  It came to my notice that all this data may be affecting my general wellbeing without me realizing how it is subtly influencing how I see things and how I react to them.  As a collective group, are we storing all this data without really thinking through the cause and effect of these ideas in our life?  Exposure to all this data maybe creating inner havoc without us realizing or seeing the results?  I do think astrology and the internet is an affair made in heaven, but as an individual we need to use it wisely and not allow cyberspace to use us and direct our lives without us being in control and making our own decisions.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Having instant access to all of the knowledge we need can only be a good thing. Forewarned is forearmed. One of the biggest benefits I see is in putting together people with the same interests as ourselves, and the subsequent exchange of ideas. Even in the same interest field everyone has a different interpretation of the information. Access to ephemeral and planetary positions and transits data within a few clicks as well as a whole world of other people’s interpretations of this can only help everyone who cares to look with their own life path.

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on July 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      Hi
      Thanks for your comment, but I still feel wisdom and the right timing is important in all this data. You mention forewarned is forearmed, but what if we misinterpret what was said? For my part the internet is like a retrograde, if we use caution and care, we will side step the problems and only will benefit it from it all. My message is to take care and be alert and responsible for our own decisions, and the internet will be our playground and our school
      Regards,
      Lincoln

      Reply

Leave a Reply

