“Will Being on the Very Edge of the Orb of the Sun Cause a Sunburn or Tan?”

My study in Astrology seems to be “The Never Ending Story”, which sounds like a wonderful title for a movie and book.  Like the story, astrology is an adventure.  The books that are available today on the stars are endless without a dull moment with new, interesting and exciting areas to be explored, no matter what your interest and expertise is.  Always leading to discoveries to enhance the knowledge anyone already has under their belt for further understanding and growth.  Within the last thirty years with the growing interest in the translations of older astrological material, the field is a gold mine to be harvested and devoured.  One can not pick a better time to study astrology, with so much available and with the ability to access the information without much difficulty or wait.  There is no excuse for not having a well rounded general knowledge of what is being offered, as much of the descriptions and information are available on the internet.

Recently I ran across the book, “On The Heavenly Spheres – A Treatise on Traditional Astrology by Helena Arelar and Luis Riberio” which is laid out as a textbook with a systematic approach for study.  One of the best books at the moment for a general overview of what traditional astrology has to offer.  For those who have started with the modern approach and wish to understand what traditional astrology has to offer in this contemporary world, this book may give one the clues?  Not only will this textbook allow us to discern whether we want to continue with this branch of astrology, it will give us the origin and history of the astrology we work with today.  I have always felt that for us to develop, to progress, and to grow into new areas of our studies, we need to know where we came from.  Understanding our roots gives us the knowledge and foundation to expand into the unknown.  The authors cover all the rules and steps in delineating a chart, even those we don’t use as much, or have modified for today’s lifestyle. 

One of the rules I worked with in the beginning was the orbs that were allowed when the planets were making an aspect.  My first teacher’s attitude was that I needed to memorize the rules, but she always emphasized that the closer the orb, the more important it was.  Her attitude was, the wider the orb, the less influence it would have in the delineation, so therefore she saw no reason to pay attention to them.  If the orbs were larger then I thought they should be, I followed my teacher’s advice and usually ignore it.  This mind-set was easy for me to adopt.  The ancients thought the wider orbs still had an influence, a subtle coloring that modern astrologers, including myself, did not take into consideration.  This subtle difference gives a diverse picture when combined with other understated aspects of the chart.  My attitude about them has change after reading this book, because I saw results when applying the principles suggested. 

The orb of the Sun was larger then I remembered, with the orb reaching fifteen degrees on each side, totaling thirty degrees.  Following this rule my Sun conjunct my Uranus with thirty seconds before it was out of orb.  This made me wonder if my planet was too far from the Sun to be affected or was it in a weak state.  Mercury is conjunct my Uranus by one degree in the ninth house, but luckily out of the rays of the Sun and its harmful effect.  As I contemplated on what I learnt from the authors and began to look at the aspect more seriously, I came to the conclusion that Uranus was affected by the rays of the Sun.  As comfortable as I have become with myself in seeing things differently, I realized that I am very uncomfortable in relating these different and unusual ideas to others.  I see this as being under the rays of the Sun in which the confidence I have in how I think and how I see things needs work.  After serious consideration and pondering, I definitely have come to the conclusion that being on the very edge of the orb of the Sun may not give one a sunburn, but a tan, that lets you know that the Sun has touched one in someway.  It may have a malefic or benefic outcome depending on the planet or planets involved within the rays of the Sun.

Leave a Reply

