“To Move Or Not To Move Is The Horary Question Charted At The Precise Moment?”

I have been studying the art of horary for a while, but have always felt inadequate in the delineation or explanation of the chart in question.  I noticed that I would possibly come up with the right conclusion, but the steps I took to come to the final answer were vague and unprofessional in my opinion, which depended more on my intuition then facts.  This has made me hesitant in commenting to my egroups on any horary query in discussion, but as I continued my studies on traditional astrology, John Frawley and Morin, I realized by not having the basic aphorisms and dignities committed to memory, where the information can be readily brought to consciousness when needed, was my big mistake which gave me my insecurities.  The history of astrology has implied that astrologers first practiced the art of horary before the art of natal delineation, as it was difficult to determine the correct birth time of most common folks of the period.  In Horary a question is asked of the astrologer, and the birth time of the question gives birth to the answer.  The astrological time is determined when the astrologer understands the question given to him.  Today the answers appear to be more black and white, as in a yes or no, or to the location of a lost item, or which team is going to win?  In the time of William Lilly and Morin, the astrologers gave a more detail account of the situations and circumstances of the question at hand. 

In our complex world today I can understand why we want to go directly to the chase and outcome, rather then why the situation came up in the first place.  As an astrologer with the curiosity of the not so straight and narrow path of getting right to the answer, and realizing some answers are not as straight forward as they appear on the surface, I wanted to understand why the question needed to be asked in the first place.  In the last few years with the recession hitting the global community, the fears and frustrations have been hard and difficult to shrug off and to be replaced with more positive thoughts.  Even those who have not been hit with financial woes are not immune from the anxieties affecting others in our communities.  In this atmosphere I asked this question “Would it be wise to move toPortland,Oregon?”  The chart was drawn with the ascendant being in Libra, Venus in Gemini is the lord of the first house which represents me and is conjunct the south node and is about to come into a square with Saturn in Libra in the twelfth house, the lord of the fourth house, representing my home and the move.  I knew the answer was a little more complex then just a no, but I was not sure for what reasons.  This is when I decided to post the question to one of my horary groups, and I was told the answer was negative and that the situation had more to do with me, then the move.  I actually was overjoyed as I thought he was right on the spot, and I began to try to decipher how he came to this conclusion to help me better  understand why I asked the question. 

As I looked at Venus coming into the square with Saturn, I saw that I was represented by Venus which was in poor shape and condition in the ninth house of ideas, thoughts and movements.  As compared to Saturn who was happy in Libra and had its joy in the twelfth house was in a better situation, even though it was in a malefic house.  I began to realize that I was overwhelmed by all the negative thoughts surrounding the financial condition of the state and the city, and their struggles to get out of their situation, and was taking on their anxieties and fears as my own.  I asked myself, was I unhappy where I was living, or was it the apartment and not the location a problem?  I realized that the global situation represented by Saturn in the twelfth was influencing me in a way by emphasizing the negative and destructive thinking pattern.  Coming to terms with my own fears showed me how valuable it was in studying the art of horary in combinations with modern and traditional techniques to begin to understand where we are coming from and to where we are going.  This has given me the input and impetus to buckle down and memorize the basics of traditional horary astrology and to combine it with our modern methods to make astrology vital and alive in the twenty first century as it was in ages past.    

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by The Tune on July 25, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Thank you for sharing this. It was very fascinating to me as I have lived in Portland, OR for sometime now (since 2003). The funny thing is I have always had a love hate relationship with the city. Something I have been struggling with recently has been feeling as though I am being overwhelmed by the mindset of a city that has been in an economic downturn since long before the national/world downturn. To add to it, ever since returning to Portland from a six month backpacking trip in January, I have struggled with off and on migraine like headaches. It is leaving me to wonder what is in Portland’s air? I say this only because I am rather health conscious and have always made a point of taking care of myself. After assessing any possible personal physical causes I have started to wonder about something that is outside of me. Anyway, not to ramble on too long but my question in recent months has been quite the opposite of yours. Should I leave Portland?
    Thanks for sharing that post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

