“An Astrologer Like a Great Actor Creates the State of Mind ▬ To Be or Not To Be”

As we begin the New Year, many people including myself have a list of New Year resolutions we hope to accomplish in the coming months.  How this tradition got started and whether it really does any good in our life is questionable, but it is something we may or may not look forward to, but tend to have a list ready when asked.  As I have grown older I realized if I am to finish any of the projects, I need to be realistic on what I want to bring to fruition.  Many times I think I have started projects to please others, instead of trying to accomplish something that would really please me.  As I begin the year 2011, I recognize the most important thing I want to perfect in the coming period of time is to be a better and more predictive astrologer.  To accomplish this, I plan to do an intensive study of the classical and traditional astrological material that has been translated into English.  Normally when I find an area of study I find to be important and enlightening, I try to convince everyone to do it my way.  I am not sure if my state of mind has become more mellow, or has wisdom taken hold of my consciousness, but my thoughts to bring others to my side of the conversation, is not as important, any more.  What I do find important is that what ever idea, thought or project we wish to accomplish, we do it with intensity and for the love it.

I consider myself, a modern astrologer with more then a curiosity for all the other avenues of astrology, with the traditional pulling at my coattails.  The different avenues and approaches the study of the stars has to offer, only makes the art that much more diverse and interesting.  I don’t think any one approach is the right way for every one.  We all have our own ways of doing things, and certain things work better for us then others.  Finding our groove and working with it will be a key to a successful and a satisfying life well lived.  It is not the area of astrology we study that is important, but how we approach the topic at hand, which will determine how proficient we become in the subject matter.  I have come to understand that learning all the rules and definitions will give me a handle on the subject, but understanding and being in tune with the chart was missing.  As I contemplated on this I remembered that my other great love is the movies, theatre and watching great actors at work.  It dawned on me that we must be like the great actors who are so into their character that we don’t see the real actor, but the character he or she is portraying.

This made sense to me as memorizing rules and aphorisms of the planets, signs, aspects and et cetera will give us the foundation for delineating a chart, but it won’t give us the subtle difference to the essential motivation of the chart.  It is not just being able to give further details on the delineation of the signs, planets, and aspects, as astrologers and those interested in astrology, but to be the chart itself and to feel what it is feeling.  To be so involved and connected to the chart that chart takes on a life of its’ own.  Understanding and feeling how the planet feels in the sign it is in, and the house it is in, and the fundamental feelings that is brought about by the aspects with the other planets.  Some planets and signs are considered hot and dry expressing a certain nature and disposition, and we must understand and feel what it is like to be in the company of a different temperament.  Is there a problem and what that situation would create?  Understanding these differences may be very slight and subtle, but that type of delineation, separates the men from the boys and the women from the girls.  My final comment is that if we are to really understand and delineate a chart with intuition and insight we need to be the chart inside and out.  We must be like all great actors and become that which we are interpreting.  At the moment of consultation, one should not be able to tell the difference from the consulting astrologer and the chart that is being delineated.  “To be or not to be” is the state of mind any individual, whether amateur or professional should have in delineating any type of astrological chart.

Leave a Reply

