“Mercury and Jupiter is the Yin and the Yang of Thinking and Ideas”

As far back as I can remember I was instilled with the thought “knowledge is power”.  How that thought came to become so powerful in my life was a mystery to me at that time.  It has been a motivating source of energy that seems to originate from my childhood trying to blend two different cultures into a viable one.  The fact that I was called a nerd because I needed to wear eyeglasses when I was four years old isolated me into my own world of imaginations, fantasies and books.  This started me on the road to educating and broadening my mind.  Although I have always considered myself intelligent, I have never considered myself an intellectual.  In making this statement, you the reader may find this a contradiction or an odd statement, at best.  I am capable of inductive and deductive reasoning, but to explain how I came to the final conclusion is hard for me to articulate.  The problem I have, is I am not sure how much is my ability to reason, or how much of it is my intuition, which goes into the decisions and choices I make.

It was during my sojourn into the study of astrology that I became aware that the ruler of my ascendant and my midheaven was Mercury in the signs of Virgo and Gemini, respectively.  This was like a light bulb that just got turn on, allowing me to begin my journey into understanding how I think, and where my philosophy of life comes from.  Astrology gave me the keys to why I do certain things the way I do.  It opened doors to new vistas of doing and solving problems in my life.  To me to understand how we think and operate, are the first steps in achieving one’s goals and ambitions.  Suddenly I realized that my curiosity into knowledge and information was already foretold in my natal chart, and that was a pleasant and a wonderful surprise, proving that astrology works.  Morin, my mentor in traditional astrology always connects the dots by comparing and relating the opposite houses, planets and signs to get a broader interpretation in what is going on in the natal chart. 

An example in my chart, Mercury in Gemini in the ninth house faces an empty house in the third in Scorpio.  Mars the ruler of Scorpio is in the sixth house in Pisces, and the ruler of this sign is Jupiter, which is in Cancer on the cusp of the eleventh house.  Connecting the dots, one realizes one can’t just delineate and interpret Mercury without seeing how Jupiter colors it by revealing that it is the mirror image of each other; an eternal circle with variations of thought that go to one end of the spectrum, and then returning back to the other end.  Mercury makes me see things in a practical and pragmatic light, and my philosophy of life is not just ideas, but a way of life that fulfills itself.  Jupiter in Cancer makes me develop a philosophy that will not only work for me, but includes the welfare, dreams and wishes of all those I am connected with.  The way I see life is the way I see a perfect circle, no beginning and no ending.  As the saying goes “all for one, and one for all”, declares that one must walk the talk as shown by Mars.

One realizes that one cannot interpret Mercury, without considering Jupiter as the yin to the yang.  When seeing the Zodiac as the traditional astrologers have, one sees Mercury in Gemini in the third house of communications opposite Jupiter in Sagittarius in the ninth house of philosophy and ideas.  The strangest coincidence, or is it, with Virgo in Mercury in the sixth house of service and health opposite Jupiter in Pisces in institutions and the sacred mysteries.  If we look at the planets with its’ inner opposites, the delineations become clearer with complexities that give many dimensions to the individual.  Combining Mercury and Jupiter together, paraphrases what Agatha Christie’s greatest detective always comments about “we need to let the little grey cells do their work”.

Leave a Reply

