“Is Saturn the Malefic with the Eclipses Misunderstood in Modern Astrology?”

As I continue my studies and readings in astrology I realize how important it is to go back to the classics to get a handle on this subject that makes sense to me.  The more I have interactions with nonbelievers of the art; I recognize the need to understand the basis as to why I study and have an interest in astrology, and why it works for me.  It is not important if others accept my ideas and beliefs, but that I can explain in intelligent terms why I see this study as important.  As in any other subjects, if one is to become proficient one must continue to practice everyday and review the classic materials to get a real understanding of where one is coming from, and where one is going to.  The other day I came across information that a few of the great jazz musicians of our time had their basic training in classical and other forms of music in building the foundation for greatness in the venue of the music of their choice.  This only confirms that I should be open to all areas astrology encompasses, plus the classical writings that started it all.

After experiencing and writing about the eclipses in June and July 2010, I received a comment about my remarks that the earlier practitioners of the art believed these aspects to be malefic which brought on earthquakes, weather patterns, et cetera.  The writer thought this was totally unbelievable for this day and age.  I shrugged it off as I watched T.V. news reports that my statements were confirmed with what ensued in Asia after the total eclipse in 2009.  I began to wonder about my thoughts, and began to think, that what took place in Asia after the eclipse could be explain as normal occurrences happening for that time of year.  An example of how malefic an eclipse can be is a co-worker and I had the total Solar Eclipse of July 11, 2010 conjunct one of our natal planets which made me hopeful of the results.  I wasn’t over bearing, because the underlying reflection that I never seem to feel or experience anything directly from a transit was in my belief system.  The day came and went and nothing extraordinary happen except a good feeling with expectations, which I felt was my own doing.  Where as my co-worker had a bad day and made up for it the next day, the way I thought he should have experienced the moment.  I on the other hand, experienced the Solar Eclipse conjunct to my Jupiter with a mind blowing experience a week later, to how I see myself and how I think of myself.  For the first time I am able to see and express the many different sides of my personality and be happy and comfortable with it.

Experiencing this first hand caused me to realize that I did not take in to consideration in the delineation, that the planets and aspect were malefic.  This is not to say something beneficial would not result from the aspect, but that caution should be applied when delineating a chart with negative overtones.  In modern astrology Saturn is the foundation of the structure of our thinking and actions.  Although this is beneficial to our growth, what we forget is that too little or too much structure can be destructive which then can be considered malefic.  The ancients may have considered the Eclipses as malefic in certain aspects, and if we treat it like a quincunx, with hard work and determination, we can change a difficult situation into a blessing.  Then what was considered a malefic, transforms into a beneficial aspect and vice versa.  Today if we proceed with caution and understand what a malefic can do, we can avoid some of the lessons these malefic aspects may unfold.  As modern astrologers we must respect these malefic aspects and work with their energies to bring positive results into our lives.  In this way we bring our misunderstanding of the rules that were established by Traditional Astrology into new heights in the twenty first century. This will give Saturn and the Eclipses a place of respect in Modern Astrology in helping us achieve our goals and aspirations.

Leave a Reply

