“Mercury in 4th Degree of Gemini is Highly Over Active!”

When I first started learning astrology in a small group of six students meeting twice a month in the teacher’s brownstone, one of the first things we memorize was the critical degrees that would affect a chart.  To my horror and fear I had two planets in critical degrees in my chart with one planet in conjunction.  “What was I to do”, I asked my mentor, and she said “the Universe may give us obstacles, but at the same time the Universe gives us assets and talents to overcome these negative situations”.  At the time the answer was sufficient, but as time went on I realized I really did not know how these aspects would really affect me and what the consequences would be in my life.  I had to deal with a chart with two planets in critical degrees, and in time I would experience my first Saturn Return and Pluto square.  As I began to approach my first Saturn Return, a sense of dread hung over me as I didn’t know what to expect.  Continuation of my studies began to show me that I was approaching these difficult aspects with fear instead of with the hope that I would learn and grow from it.

For the longest time the only thing I knew about critical degrees was that they were points on the zodiac spaced 12 ½ degrees apart beginning with zero degree in which the native would experience obstruction and frustration, depending on which planet and house it was in.  The critical degrees are: 0, 13 and 26 degrees of cardinal signs; 9 and 21 degrees of fixed signs; and 4 and 17 degrees of mutable signs.  I have learnt from my studies and by my experience these critical degrees are neither benefic nor malefic but are the area in which one’s greatest potentials lies.  Critical degrees are like planets near an angle in the chart, they are the first to be activated as they are sensitive points which bring energy  into reality and form.  The critical degrees tend to express the energies of the planets in their signs from the negative to the positive with all the shades of grey in between.

My planets in critical degrees were Mercury and Uranus in the ninth house and Neptune in the first house.  Mercury in the critical degree either makes me a chatter box and at times not a word would come out of my mouth when in a social gathering.  I am very sociable and many consider me an extrovert, but in reality I consider myself an introvert.  With the conjunction of Uranus I always think out of the box and need new excitements to keep me going, or I tend to be very rigid in my thinking.  Neptune gives me insights and intuition which at times ran rampant and the need to save the world, and at other times the world to save me.  What I have realized is that the Universe has shown me in which areas my potentials and greatest efforts lies, but I need to adapt and improvise it, to work with the talents and assets I came into this world with.  I need to understand and work with the planets to control the energy it releases.  Working and studying astrology has helped me take these sensitive points and energies, and focus on what is needed to make and create the things I need to be happy.

If one has no planets in critical degrees in their natal chart, just bless your lucky stars that you possess flexibility and adaptability and the knowledge that you will achieve your goals with a positive attitude with few obstacles in your way.  If you are like me and have a planet in critical degrees, you still should bless your lucky stars that you have been given the gift to know in what areas your abilities lie, and though you need to persevere to reach your goals, the satisfaction and joy will come with the knowledge that you did it on your own with the help of the Universe guiding you.  The most important lesson I have learnt is that the planets in critical degrees are sensitive points for growth and will indicate where potentials of success are, and are not obstacles to foil our happiness.  My only regret, is not having understood this sooner, so I could appreciate and be thankful for the steps I was taking for my growth and learning in this life.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kbr DM on July 27, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    Hi^^
    I came across your blog as I was searching for critical degrees. I’m also like you..full of worries currently, here’s my chart.
    Venus and Moon are on the critical degrees. It makes me worry about my love life. It is said that even though I’m married, husband won’t love me, problems with in-laws, will feel alone etc. I’d love to hear your opinion. Thanks in advance! http://i39.tinypic.com/ve7jhl.gif

    Reply

  2. Excellent post on critical degrees and how to best use that energy. My ascendant and descendant are in critical degrees. Much appreciate your thoughts—spot on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

