“Seeing the Planets and Stars With an Old Perspective in a New Light”

As a serious practitioner of astrology I try to keep up with all new findings and developments and at the same time, trying to continue my reading and research into all the new translations of the old astrological texts that are becoming available.  The more I read and study, the more I realize I am only touching the surface, and there is so much to absorb and learn.  In reading the old text, even though it is translated for the modern reader can be an endurance test which takes determination, stamina and courage to get through and to understand.  I bulldoze through the parts I don’t understand in the hopes that when I get to the end of the book, something might click.  Usually if it is a difficult text like Morin’s books, it takes reading the book or chapter three or four times and joining discussion groups on traditional astrology before the light bulb goes on.

Recently I was able to obtain a copy of Persian Nativities Volume One, translated and edited by Benjamin N. Dykes, PhD, trying to understand it will add to my understanding of delineating the natal charts with more clarity and precision.  The work is so scholarly that I have to read many of the sentences three or four times, if not more, and I still do not understand what I just read.  This is not the fault of the translator, but the need of me, the reader to persevere until I begin to understand what is being said.  After bulldozing through thirty three pages, something I read lit the light bulb and how I should continue my studies flashed before me.  I heard a famous actor once say that he was good at his craft because he became and was one with the person he was portraying.  It came into my thoughts if I am to learn and master this, I must become one with the astrologer who wrote the thesis and the period he lived in.  Bingo, I needed to see the stars and planets through their eyes, not mine in this day and age.

Suddenly I realized that the Sun represented the King, or Emperor, or Caliph in the natal chart.  The Moon represented the Queen or Empress and Mercury was the court jester, and or the courtiers.  Venus was the artisans, craftsmen, educators, and orators, while Mars was the soldiers, guards, protectors, movers and politicians of the time.  Saturn represented the legislators, the judges and keepers of the laws of the land.  Jupiter on the other hand was the Bishops, High Priests and Priestesses and the Prophets in the charts.  I wanted to know if these keywords would make sense and give clearer delineation, so I decided to take Morin’s outline for the Planet’s enemies and friends and see what happens.

Sun: Friends with all planets but Saturn.

         Enemies with Saturn

The King is a friend to all, but those who make his words law, as the King must be diligent that they are carrying out his will.

Moon:  Friends with all but Saturn and Mars

             Enemies with Saturn and Mars

The Queen doesn’t trust the law enforcers or soldiers, as the wives of King Henry the 8th can testify.

Mercury: Friends with all but Mars.

                 Enemies with Mars

The court jester or courtiers can’t count on the soldiers to be on their side when the King turns on them.

Venus:  Friends with all but Saturn and Mars

              Enemies with Saturn and Mars

The artisans can not create with laws that hinders their creativity and with soldiers that enforced the laws.

Mars:  Friends with only the Sun

            Enemies with all but the Sun

The only friend the soldiers have is the King they serve.

Jupiter: Friends with all but Mars

              Enemies with Mars

The Bishops are friends to all as they are the spiritual advisors, but the soldiers have their loyalty with the king.

Saturn: Friends with Jupiter and Mercury

              Enemies with all but Jupiter and Mercury

The legislators and Judges can easily make friends with the Bishops to control the masses.  Saturn is friends with Mercury but Mercury does not bring him luck, which shows the courtiers’ loyalty follows whoever the ruler is.

To me these keywords give these planets a personality that I can relate to and understand, so when they react to each other through their aspects, their actions gives me a story I can retell with details.  Treating each planet as complex as they are, and in the hierarchy they are in, develops a picture of the individual with a richer texture and diversity.  I hope you will give it a try and see if it works for you.  It may or may not be a help, but at least you will see these planets in a new and different light when you encounter them again in other charts.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jennifer on February 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Wow! — this really explains the planets in a way that allows me to identify with them better. Thank you for this interpretation.

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on February 16, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      Thank you for your comment, it is appreciated. If you care to share your thoughts on this, please do so.
      Reards
      Lincoln

      Reply

Leave a Reply

