“Planets Situated Near an Angle is a Pivot for the Planets it Aspects! “

As an ardent advocate of Solar and Lunar Returns, the principle rule is that any planet or planets near or conjunct an angle becomes the guiding point in the interpretation and influence in the chart for the coming year or month.  I have noticed that the same rule applies to the natal chart when any planets are near or conjunct one of the four cardinal angles, and it appears to me the planet or planets tends to take on more importance and brilliance then the planets not near the angles.  The planets closest to the angles tend to be the pivoting point for those planets they aspect, sending their rays to activate their energy when they are activated by a transit, direction or progression.  The influence of the pivoting planet gives them priority to express their energy before other planets, not in aspect to a planet in close proximity to an angle.  I have also noticed when the other planet is activated it relays the energy back to the pivoting planet and activates it, even though the pivoting planet was not in aspect to any transits etcetera.

Case in point is my own chart with Neptune conjunct the ascendant trine Mercury and Uranus in the ninth house, and square Venus in the tenth house.  Mercury is the ruler of my chart, but Neptune always tries to intimidate the other planets in thinking he is the superior planet and tries to persuade them into thinking he is the co-ruler as he conjuncts the ascendant ruled by Mercury.  This is like a movie about the conflicts of family life, but living with these aspects one realizes that truth is stranger than any fiction one could dream up.  With Neptune always interfering when I least expect it, I have come to a point in my life that I just try to go with the flow, and that makes for happier bedfellows.  I can never think or work on any project without Neptune bringing more complexities and visions to the end result.  The situation is either instigated by my own fertile imaginations or by other’s fertile imaginations and visions.  It is like a science fiction or fantasy story that has gone haywire, and has lost control.  Neptune represents the principle of dissolving boundaries, attitudes, opinions, and theories which permits one to try to feel and touch the borders of the transcendental and subtle areas of our minds and thoughts.

In this article I have concentrated on the planet or planets conjunct the ascendant as the first house represents the way in which the individual spontaneously approaches the surrounding world, and the basic mood, manner and disposition in which the individual will start something new.  It allows others to see at a glance by our facial and body language our attitudes and our demeanor.  As the old adage “a picture is worth a thousand words”, is the key word for the first house.  It also allows the individual to have a more complete knowledge of the inner workings of their mind, emotions, abilities and what makes up their philosophy of living.  Understanding where we come from and what makes us tick, allows us to have a clearer picture of where we are going and what we wish to accomplish.  As I always like to repeat, it is not important to know or understand what you want, but to understand and know what you don’t want.  To finalize, if you do have a planet or planets near or conjunct the ascendant, just thank your lucky stars and work with them.

9 responses to this post.

  1. This is timely for me because I’ve been realizing just how much impact my own Neptune has. Neptune conjuncts my IC- opposing my MC and squaring my Ascendant in Virgo. Neptune also forms a trine with my Sun in the 8th. The more I try to force myself to find a direction, the more confused I get. I feel like I simply cannot see my position in life clearly- I don’t know where I stand. Like you said, the best solution seems to be to stop fighting and give- let the current take me where it wants to go.

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on February 9, 2010 at 12:01 am

      I feel and understand. Not fighting it really helps, and the energy that was once used for that purpose, can now be applied for our benefit. My thoughts and prayers are that we all can benefit from Neptune’s rays.

      Reply

  2. Posted by John Ballantrae on February 8, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Hello. Found you via Alltop.

    You say: With Neptune always interfering when I least expect it

    Can you give an example of this in action?

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on February 9, 2010 at 12:28 am

      Hi John
      I am not sure I can give an example, except that I find that I see many sides to a situation, and can come up with some far fetch answers when I only want a yes or no.

      Reply

  3. Posted by John Ballantrae on February 9, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Ah well. An actual example might have made clear what you were meaning.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nikki on February 10, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I appreciate the way you have summed this up here, and related it to lunar and solar returns as well as natals, as I also find this very true. I also like the idea of the angular planet being the pivot point for the planets it aspects.

    With Saturn conjunct MC he certainly dominates everything in my chart and touches everything by aspect or through dispositorship. He is not the final dispositor, I have a committee of rulers – Saturn, Mercury & Jupiter – with Mercury also being my chart ruler, yet Saturn tries to lord over all the other planets. It’s like he is sitting around saying “Be afraid, be very, very afraid!” Control freak. Mercury and Jupiter try to shrug him off but there is no getting around him.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Nikki on February 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    My sweetheart actually has Neptune on the Dsc and he describes it as almost being too easily influenced by the opinions of others, easily swayed, since he can see all sides of an issue he sometimes feels like he loses ground on putting forth his own point of view.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

