“The Saturn Return in One’s Life, a Problem or an Opportunity?”

It is strange how sometimes things or happenings come in threes when there is a long dry spell.  It has been a while since I experience my last Saturn Return, and in the last few weeks I had conversations with three people who were experiencing theirs for the first and second time.  For the person experiencing the return for the first time, there was a sigh of relief it was over, and I expected a different reaction from the other two, but was surprise it was the same sigh of relief.  In my conversations with them I realized it is all the hype that astrology gives to the Saturn Return that terrorized them, rather then what they were going through.  It seems to me that the experience is similar to Mercury Retrograde; it is our attitude to the up coming event that explains how we get through it.  The first Saturn Return happens around twenty nine years of age, and I can see the concern one might have at that time if one’s direction and goals are still muddy and unclear for the future.  The second return at about fifty nine years of age, when one wonders where the time has gone, and have we prepared enough for our golden years.

I am not saying the return may not be a difficult time, but I am saying our attitude and our approach will determine how well and easy we get through it, and if we will benefit from it.  I remember somewhere Isabel Hickey said that solving problems in life was not the difficulty, but the fear of the problem, was.  Fear she attributed to Saturn, and fear was the culprit and the problem.  Fear is the appropriate keyword for the Saturn Return, for it is not the difficulties or crisis that may prevail, but the fear itself.  Fear gets in the way, not allowing for the correct solutions to come to our aid, and direct us in the right direction.  In my own case, I realized if I take hold of myself without fear and to take one step at a time to try to solve the problem.  The solutions tend to reveal itself and the stress and worry seems less bothersome.  To understand how the Saturn Return will affect us individually, it is important to see what house Saturn is in, in the natal chart.

The following are my thoughts if Saturn is in:

1st and 7th House

            How we see ourselves and how others see us and how we see others.

2nd and 8th House

            What our possessions and the company we keep, say about who we are.

3rd and 9th House

            Which direction do we take our ideas, thoughts, and spiritual convictions?

4th and 10th House

            Are we where we want to be and to be remember as such?

5th and 11th House

            Is life and our friends a banquet to behold?

6th and 12th House

            Are we working and doing what we love?

My advice in dealing with the Saturn Return is not to fear it, but look it straight in the eye, and see it as an opportunity and a new beginning.  It is the time to rethink and restructure and to build a firmer and stronger foundation to build our future hopes on.  To embrace change and to realize that life is never static, but always changing and adapting.  

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lindsay on August 19, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I didn’t know what was going on with me until the tail end of my Saturn Return. I wish I’d known earlier in order to face it head on a bit more!

    -Lindsay
    http://thedailyawe.com/

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on August 19, 2010 at 11:52 am

      Thanks for the comment. Iinsights are important , but whether we learn from the experience is the lesson Saturn has for us. The problem with a Saturn Return is if we don’t put our house inorder the first time, the second time will be more bumpy and difficult. If we have it together the road is a learning experience and an actual joy of living. Knowledge is power and living it is a gift from the Universe.

      Reply

      • Posted by linknjoe on August 22, 2010 at 2:54 pm

        Hi
        Thanks. I enjoy reading your articles on TMA magazine, this wasn’t the first one, and I am sure not the last. Look forward to reading more from you.
        Lincoln

  2. Posted by Delphine on September 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I am experiencing my second Saturn return. At the same time, my daughter who was born during my first Saturn return — a very hard pregnancy — is experiencing her first. Her Saturn and mine are both in Libra. Mine is in my seventh house, therefore, my marriage is undergoing major changes

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on September 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Hi
      Thanks for sharing. I would like to mention that there is not only changes with your relationships, but how you see others, and how you see yourself among your peers is making adjustments. It does not have to be bad, it is more what is needed at this time.
      The best,
      Lincoln

      Reply

  3. Posted by Theresa on December 4, 2012 at 5:27 am

    Hi, I am currently going through my first Saturn return. (6th house) I am an Aquarius, and it is strange to me house I’m going through my return at the same time that a major change is happening in our world. (This whole 12/21 business.) Any insight on how that may affect those of us who are in my position?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

