“Your ruling Planet ▬ the Matchmaker?”

homepage

 

I have always wondered why there are times we can meet someone, and totally feel comfortable.  Is there a mental radar involved?  Or is our intuition so in tune that we can evaluate the situation that quickly?   Maybe we are seeing the aura of the Person and are relating to it?  Whatever the answer is I felt the charts must have shown compatibility between the two souls, but was there a quick way to look at the chart and come to the same conclusions.  I decided to look at the charts of friends and people I like, to see if I could find something.

One of my astrology groups suggested I check for the ruler of the chart (Hyleg) and its’ role in the delineation, which I found quite interesting and totally forgot that I had studied it awhile back.  Modern astrology seems to put the ruler of the chart in the back seat, but Bonatti and Ptolemy gives it importance.  Although I consider myself of the modern school, I do feel, we have thrown out the baby with the dirty bath water.  So I tried to incorporate traditional astrology in my thinking, and one day I hope to be an out of the closet traditional astrologer.  From my early studies of the art, one of my teachers told me that the ruler of my natal chart was Mercury which confirms Bonatti’s school of thought.  Since the early days I have always related and worked with Mercury.

While going through the charts of friends, etcetera I noticed they all made some aspects to my Mercury.  The benefic aspects (conjunctions, sextiles, trines) tend to be some of my closer friends, but I did notice it also included the hard aspects (squares, oppositions), and in some it seem to challenge and inspire me.  I don’t know if this works for everyone, but it certainly made sense to me.  I began to surmise that the ruler of my chart indicated the most important direction for my life, and that I would relate to those that felt the same way.  In looking at a couple of friends who considered themselves as couples I noticed that this theory worked.  Now I am wondering whether the ruling planet of the chart in aspect to a planet or ruling planet of another’s chart could lay the foundation of a good relationship, either platonic or romantic.  Maybe our ruling planet is the Matchmaker, especially where the ruling planet of one chart aspects the ruling planet of the other?

The ruling planet is found in astrology today by considering the ruler of the ascendant or you can check into the works of Bonatti or Ptolemy, and if you have Solar Fire software, it will give you the ruling planet from the old masters.  The following are the keywords for the ruling planet in the different houses.

 House

1                    Adept at initiating activities

2                    Defines self worth through money and material possessions

3                    Drawn to activities involving intellect, travel or communications

4                    Strive to create a solid family base and home life

5                    To take risks, especially in relation to children, romance, fun and sex

6                    Service and work oriented

7                    Activities that include the partner or others

8                    Sexuality and being most comfortable in working with other resources

9                    Activities involving religion, philosophy, culture or law

10                Works hard to build a reputable expression of life

11                Involved in social and humanitarian activities that impact life

12                Private individual drawn to activities that stay behind the scenes

I hope this works for you, but I must admit that my matchmaker made me a match that has lasted many, many years.  A toast to your ruling planet, the Matchmaker!

Leave a Reply

