“Seeing and Using Profection in One’s Delineation in a New and Different Light”

One of the reasons I enjoy the study of astrology is the amazement I have when I have discovered and uncovered a new secret about myself that the chart reveals.  One may argue that because I may be looking for it, that I made the aspects work for me, to give me the response I was looking for.  This may be true for some things, but I disagree on the truths I least expected to find and discovered about myself.  Or the wow moments a person one just met experiences when delineating their chart.  One may cherish the thought that in delineating a chart one has a fifty to fifty chance to get it right or wrong, and this statement would only be true if we as astrologers, don’t make every effort and use every tool at our fingertips to be as accurate as possible.  This is the one reason Morin feels that in predicting important influences in a coming year, one needs at least three aspects confirming the situation in question, as a necessity to validate one’s validity.  My favorite method in determining the influences for the coming year is with the Solar Return chart, but there are times, even when one is sure what the influences are, one wishes there was another method that would confirm and backup one’s conclusions. 

The reason I am convinced it is a good idea to have a general consensus of what is in our future, is that I whole heartedly believe in the aphorism that being “forewarned is forearmed”.  I have experienced more openness and flexibility when I am prepared for whatever might happen.  In this way I was able to take advantage and to use the situation to my benefit.  Had it come upon me as a surprise, my reactions and decisions may have been determined by the moment and the situation, and not by my higher intuition, thought or my emotions.  I have tried other methods such as transits, progressions, et cetera, but was not comfortable with any one of them.  It so happens that an astrologer in one of my traditional astrological egroups who I totally respect, gave a short summation of why she was so enamored with the use of profection in connection with a solar return chart and how it would improve one’s accuracy in the delineation of any chart.  This is a very old and traditional method of the progression of the house through the ascendant each year. 

The meaning is taken from Astrology.com. 

Profection is a time lord system, based on a progression in the order of the signs from a given point.  There are annual, monthly, and daily profections for each planet or lot (Arabic part).  A profection is simply a jump from one sign to the next.  For instance, an annual profection jumps from one sign to the next on your birthdate every year.  If Fortuna was in Gemini when you were born, then the annual profection for Fortuna on your next birthday would be Cancer. 

At first glance, I quickly dismissed it, because I could not make any sense or imagine that every single soul going through their second birthday would experience the second house in the same way.  This was the reasoning in which I misjudged the system.  It took a couple of years on the back burner, while I was studying Morin that I realized that we would experience each house according to the ruler of the sign and not just the house itself.   By utilizing the essential dignities a more colorful and precise picture came into view.  Suddenly I saw each individual experiencing their year differently and applying the transits gave a different perspective.  By looking at my own solar return chart for the present and having it confirmed with the profection chart was an exciting moment for me.  Another one followed another as I applied this method to the charts of my friends.  There is still a lot for me to learn with this method even though I consider myself a professional, as the source material on this subject matter is few and far between.  I am sure there are more trials and errors in front of me on this subject matter, but what this has taught me is to be more open and less judgmental on systems developed and used by our fore runners.  Maybe some areas of astrology are obsolete in this modern age, but before I throw out the bathwater, I better make sure the baby is not in with it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pisces rising Virgo Sun on December 4, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Profection is my favorite tool and especially good for those that don’t know their rising signs since it goes by how old you currently are.

    Venus rules my solar year this year using Profection.
    Did you know how to get a Hellenistic Solar return?

    Go to astro.com and find your *lunar return* for when the Sun is in your natal Sun sign.
    That becomes the rising for your Hellenistic SR. The degree comes from the ruler of your year as found using profection. So since Venus rules my SR year I use the degree that Venus is in for my Hellenistic SR and that becomes the degree of my SR rising. I find this much more accurate than a regular solar return.

    Here are two good profection wheels

    http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=%2b%22profection+wheel%22&view=detail&id=90AC5D3C54B8A9788953ECCAAA6BFC3FDCFB7ED5&first=0&FORM=IDFRIR

    The 2nd one here even lets you drag your rising into position.

    http://www.sageasita.com/visual-nine.html

    Enjoy!

    Reply

  2. Profections is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to time-lord techniques. Once you become comfortable with that you should check out Zodiacal Releasing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

