“Is The Part of Fortune in the Second House the Pot-of-Gold?”

The Part or Lot of Fortune, sometimes called Fortuna is the most popular Arabic Part which are sensitive points in a chart, and are calculated using specific formulas whereby two planets or points are added together, and a third planet or point is subtracted producing the final result or prediction.  The Part of Fortune is compared to the pot-of-gold and is considered to be a most beneficial point in the chart indicating how we will achieve our wishes, hopes and financial fortune.  Even curious folks who have little background in astrological studies will ask where their Part of Fortune is and what it means as far as their financial status in life.  I have never been too happy with the interpretation as it appears too vague for indicating how one would amass one’s finances in life.  My Part of Fortune is in Scorpio in the second house indicating I might be materially blessed if my endeavors to accomplish that which I truly desired with keen perception and insight.  This disturb me as I felt this aspect should give me a clue in what was needed and in what direction one needed to pursue to obtain financial security.

In analyzing the formula I realized it dealt with the ascendant, moon, and the sun, all indicating the essence, emotion, energy and the personality of the individual.  So in my opinion, the fortune of the individual depended on the person, and not some force outside the individual.  The person may be born into wealth, but how he or she maintains it, again depends on the individual.  This was an eye opener, as I realized if I could comprehend which of my talents and assets where the deciding factors in obtaining satisfaction, joy, and material stability, then I would have more direction into materializing it into reality.  The Part of Fortune is more then material wealth and processions; it indicates the area we feel we have accomplished and completed something that gives us joy, satisfaction and peace of mind.  Now I have decided to reassess my chart with the Part of Fortune, and to see what conclusions I will come up with.  My ascendant is Virgo, the moon in Gemini and my sun is in Taurus, with the Part of Fortune in Scorpio in the second house, and the depositor Mars in the sixth house.  Using Morin’s method of relating everything back to each other and to use the opposite house and the ruler of the cusp, my delineation was mind blowing.

Scorpio is intense and does not enter into lazy compromises and with the energy, stamina of Mars represents the strength of will to persevere until the final goal has been accomplished.  With Virgo as the ascendant, Mercury kicks in with its’ intellect, communication skills, knowledge, analytical and logical thoughts, and the Moon in Gemini with its’ clever mind, methodical actions and metal flexibility.  Scorpio in the second with Venus, the ruler of eighth cusp in the tenth house conjunct the Moon, seeing the big picture in it’s’ entirety is important.  To come to the point, if I really believe and love the cause or project, even if I have no knowledge or experience in the matter, I will make it happen.  The keyword here is, “I will make it happen”.  Another example to show how this works, a friend has her Part of Fortune in Scorpio in the third house with Mars in the eleventh house with the depositor, Moon in the tenth.  As I was talking to another friend about my thoughts on this method, I explain that her Part of Fortune was her “networking skills” with her friends and acquaintances.  My friend, who knew this friend better then I did, said I hit the nail on the head.  Using this method on other charts, I have come to the conclusion as long as it is giving results that are helping others to use the Part of Fortune to their benefit, I will continue the effort.  This Arabic part is the Pot-of-Gold as it gives us the tools to reach the end of the rainbow and receive the rewards we are working towards.

28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Niyati on February 2, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    My part of fortune is in the 8th house, Gemini ruled by Mercury in Cancer also in the 8th house desposited by the Moon in Pisces in the 4th (which rules the 9th hse). ….’ through sex, death and transformation I find my spiritual home …..’ Im really not sure.
    What’s worse my friend has his POF also in the 8th in Gemini ruling planet mercury is also in the 8th in Gemini obviously desposited by itself, though it does rule the 11th and 8th.
    what would you use for an 8th house POF?

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on February 2, 2010 at 11:57 pm

      Hi
      As I follow the early writers I can not judge without seeing the whole, as Morin always said to keep going back to the essentials until you see the big picture. The Part of Fortune interpretation consists of the Ascendant, the Moon, the Sun, the depositors, and house cusp rulers. If you send me your birth data, I will be glad to give you’re my thoughts and opinions. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Niyati on February 3, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Hi there,

    that would be very kind as ive always found the POF most intreguing perhaps because mine is in the 8th. Also thank you for introducing me to Morin, Ive now read an article on astro.com which was very interesting.
    My DOB 30/07/61 time 15.15 in Dundee, UK.

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on February 3, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      Hi
      My thoughts for your POF is the Keyword: Creative Confrontation

      Creative confrontation to involve and interact with others to reinvent and revision a dynamic, practical and pragmatic approach to your spirituality, your philosophy, your attitudes of sexuality. A way of life that is never static, but always changing for the better and reaching for the ultimate. Writer, counselor, teacher, champion for a cause.
      Hope this makes sense, and gives you something to contemplate about.
      Regards,
      Lincoln

      Reply

  3. Posted by Niyati on February 5, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Hi Lincoln,
    well you have definitely given me food for thought. That’s an understatement. Creative confrontation, well it is true I have throughout my life constantly reinvented myself and moved ever onwards. I am indeed a restless soul, and have always constantly searching. Many thanks for doing this for me – I will now try and learn a bit more about Morins ideas and maybe start looking at traditional astrology as it seems to be very fertile with wonderful new insights.
    And to think I read my POF in the 8th as inheriting money and in Gemini from my brother (from its 3rd hse ruler). LOL!
    Im very impressed at what you have written and am trying to de-construct it so I can use it with other people.
    many thanks
    Lesley

    Reply

  4. Posted by Hilton on April 23, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Hi Lincoln,

    I also have POF in 2nd House, but in Libra..as I have noticed so far, I have been quite lucky with money, meaning that I haven’t really have had totally lack of money during my life (must be careful with saying this, because you never know what the future brings along)…maybe my Jupiter in 8th (Aries) has something to do with it also..

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on April 23, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      Hi Hilton
      Thanks for the comment. Where is your Venus in connection with the second house and Jupiter? That might give you the answwer, and is there any other planets in the second?
      Regards
      Lincoln

      Reply

  5. Posted by Hilton on April 24, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Hi Lincoln,

    my Venus is in 5th House making tight conjunction with Saturn, No other planets in my 2nd. Jupiter does not make any connections.

    Regards, Hilton

    Reply

  6. I’m a complete astro baby, but was wondering with the Pax Fortunae, which chart/placement should be used/looked at? The natal, which surely merely gives you the tools to live your life? Progressed for where energies are at this date, solar return for the year ahead on birth date, or solar at current date for where energies currently are (which I just looked at by mistake) – big difference in placement (and sabian symbols obviously) when using the two solar return dates!

    Many thanks
    Mouse

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on April 26, 2010 at 5:28 pm

      Hi Mouse

      Thank you for your comments. The Part of fortune when interpreted with the natal chart gives the indication for this life on earth and the possibilities how your fortune is to be made. One can also delineate the solar return with the part of fortune, but the indications would only apply to the year in question, and only in the context of the natal chart. Nothing can happen if it is not promised or foretold in the natal chart. Also when reading a solar return chart, one must keep in mind the natal chart, if one wants to get a more accurate picture of the coming year. The biggest mistake one makes is interpreting any transit charts without considering the natal. When considering any aspect to be benefic or malefic, one has to take the aspect in relationship to what is happening around it. It is the same with the tarot cards, when one is doing a reading, one must take it’s position and relationship to the others, to get a clearer picture, as a benefic or malefic card may lose it‘s power depending on many things.
      Regards
      Lincoln

      Reply

  7. Posted by Maria on April 6, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Hi Lincoln,

    I found your article on POF very interesting – Actually the entire blog is very interesting and does give food for thought.
    My pars of Fortune is in the 2nd, in Pisces, ruled by Jupiter in Sagittarius in the 11th. I’ve been told that I’ll never be rich, but on the other hand will never starve either. Yet, I think there’s more to this placement than this.I don’t feel comfortable to put my birth data here, so if you are kind enough, I could send it by email to you. I was very curious to learn your interpretation on this. Thanks very much in advance.

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on April 12, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      Hi

      With the ascendant in Aquarius and its ruler Saturn in the fifth, the Moon in Libra supposedly in the eighth hours, but actually in the ninth and with the ruler Venus on the cusp of the sixth and the Sun in Leo in the Seventh house. The part of fortune in the second house in Pisces, it allows you to dream it and by using your gut instinct and philosophy, to bring it into reality. The key phrase is “Dream it and it will be”. The foundation of your achievement will be your purpose and direction in life, friends, and how you see yourself among your peers. Follow what your personal philosophy dictates and what is important to you, and the rest (the pot of gold) will follow. The key phrase is “It is not important how much money you will accumulate in life, but how you put it to good use”. The part of fortune in Pisces in the second, is allowing you to recognize that the colorful rainbow is your imaginative mind and your ability to look within for the secrets and the magic is within your grasp, and the pot of gold is your ability to take action by following your heart. This is my take on this subject matter.
      Regards,
      Lincoln

      Reply

      • Posted by Maria on April 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm

        Hi Lincoln,
        Thanks so much for your insights. It makes a lot of sense. For me if the job pays loads of money but I don’t believe in what I am doing, I feel very frustrated and don’t commit myself to it. I move on ASAP. Although my frame of mine is still very much Saturnian, I’ve had mind blowing experiences in life by using my imagination. Pisces/neptune don’t usually have a good reputation with money because of their dissolving quality, and in the second house their reputation is even worse. So I thought POF in Pisces in the 2nd would be a bit contradictory, like what that astrologer sugegested once. But I found your take on this placement extremely inspiring and definitely helpful!
        Thank you very much and very best wishes!

  8. Hi there,

    I’m fascinated with your interpretation. Can you help me out on what my Pars of Fortune “mantra” is and how I can learn and reap the rewards from it? I’ll provide you with both where my Pars of Fortune is at along with what my Sun, Moon and Ascendant signs are. I take it, according to your post, that you use the traditional astrological associations so let me get into that mindset (I’m more of a modern user):

    Sun and Ascendant in Sagittarius (Jupiter in Virgo in the 9th House)
    Moon in Aquarius (Saturn in Aquarius in the 1st / 2nd House)
    Pars of Fortune in Aquarius in the 2nd House

    Thank you for your time and insight :)

    Reply

    • Oh! And my Sun is in the 12th House. Do you need the exact degrees in which they are at?

      Reply

      • Posted by linknjoe on July 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

        Hi
        I would be happy to give you my thoughts, but they are my thoughts, but I need to see the whole chart. Morin always caution against jumping to conclusions with partial information in view.
        Regards
        Lincoln

      • May I send you my personal information via e-mail? I would really like to hear your insight on this matter.

    • Posted by linknjoe on July 30, 2011 at 6:21 pm

      Hi
      My thoughts on your Part of Fortune in Aquarius in the Second House are as follows:

      Keyword; Use it or lose it, or better still is to use your interest in the sacred, mysteries, legends, myths and with the help of Saturn to structure with strategy these basic truths and essential, and make and present them anew and revitalize them, for today and the hi-tech world we live in. The power of this aspect is within you and the energy is bubbling forth with purpose. The vision you have already grasp as it is part of your being and the expression is magical. Take your take of the Sacred and make it your own is your mantra. Remember Saturn has it joy in Aquarius, and in the second house, it echoes I Have and I Want in a joyful way. Work with its energy, as you have affinity with it.
      Regards
      Lincoln

      Reply

  9. Thank you for your insight and time. I found it rather interesting and fascinating.

    Reply

  10. Hi Lincoln,

    Thanks for your amazing post!

    I was wondering if you would have a bit of time to give me some insight re: my Part of Fortune (I’ve provided some info below):

    * * * My ascendant is Aries, the moon in Pisces (in between 11th and 12th House) and my sun is in Virgo (6th House), with the Part of Fortune in Scorpio in the seventh house, and the depositor Mars in the tenth house. * * *

    I can give you more info if you need anything more.

    Thanks for your time and help!

    Jess.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Jo on June 28, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Dear Lincoln,
    I was visiting your blog to re read the post on the capricorn full mooon coming up when I found this article on the part of fortune. I am currently on the cusp of a new financial beginning… I have just started my own business, although working a full time job to support my needs as well as the new company. If you could offer some insight to this area I would be eternally grateful. Also the Pof has been touchef by the recent transit of saturn and I must say I have had the.effect of slowing down to dot the I’s and cross the t’s where the business and finances are involved. The cappy full moon is in my solar return this year, but I am never one to run from hard work, I just wanna optimize the tesults ;). Thank you

    http://linknjoe.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/sun-in-the-solar-return-tenth-house-is-an-accomplishment-and-success-well-earned/#respond

    Reply

  12. My Part of Fortune is also in Scorpio, in the 2nd house (only mine is conjunct Neptune) – and my Ascendant is in late Virgo.
    I’ll be following your progress closely. :)

    BTW, “I will make it happen” is so me it is unbelievable.
    When I envision something and decide it will come to be – it does.
    So there seems to be something to your interpretation.
    Good work.

    However, while I have been relatively lucky in financial terms all my life until a few years ago. then a single event (not financial) destroyed EVERYTHING, and in 2008, but especially in 2009 and up to early 2010 I was, literally, starving. I didn’t eat for days on end, and i could have easily died of inanition. (If this sounds contradictory to what I said earlier, about “I will make it happen”, it isn’t really. I wasn’t envisaging ANYTHING, because I was so heartbroken and tired.)

    I am telling you this because I am assuming you’re collecting data to further you research.
    So, PF in 2nd house, even without any hard angles (except opposition to natal Moon), definitely does NOT “protect” you from actual starving.

    Good luck! :)

    Reply

  13. Posted by serpentariusgms on May 10, 2013 at 5:31 am

    Very insightful that the part of fortune is more to do with us proliferating things for ourselves than an outside force giving us things! Brilliant! My part of fortune is cancer, in 8th, conjunction my cancer moon. Depositors are not my forte….
    Feb 19, 1986
    Los Angeles, CA 11:42pm
    Thank you!

    Reply

  14. Posted by serpentariusgms on May 10, 2013 at 5:36 am

    Keen insights! The idea that the part of fortune is more about us proliferating for us as opposed to the world giving us things, Brilliant! My part of fortune is in the 8th, cancer conjunction cancer moon.
    Feb 19th, 1986, 11:42pm
    Los Angeles, CA
    Thank you for any insights you can provide. I will be looking into this myself as well. All the best!

    Reply

    • Hi
      Intensity and passion to nourish with a true purpose, a true cause in order to stimulate and invigorate others is the key to your part of fortune. That is how I see it, hope it helps, as you are still on the threshold of more tomorrows.
      Regards,
      Lincoln

      Reply

  15. Posted by Kirsty on July 16, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    That’s amazing, I have a POF in scorpio 2nd house too apparently we have the potential to teach and lead. However I’d really love to know what exactly mine means for me my DOB is July 22nd 1993, London, UK
    Thanks for any further info, I’ve been looking into it, the idea of making things happen is something that resounds within me however I have a terrible problem with indecision and sometimes worry which maybe could do with my venus in gemini and mars in virgo.
    Thanks for the crazy amount of effort into this site as well, good luck

    Reply

Leave a Reply

