“Planets in the First House – Colors the Rest”

200px-Angelo_Bronzino_048

Neptune

I have always thought that the best way to learn and study astrology is by using your own chart as a guide to all the principles and rules one would be learning.  One of the first principles one learns in interpreting the chart, is that the first house always indicates what the individual looks like, and is like.  The ascendant sign gives us a clue to the personality and any planets in the house would give a more detail account of the person.  This I found to be very true in my own chart, with the ascendant at Virgo and with its ruler Mercury in Gemini in the ninth, and the planet Neptune in the first house.  Neptune in the first house is a bridge from the mysterious, the illusions, the imaginations, the mysticism and the spirituality to the physical world of reality.  The planet also brings with it confusion, deception, creativity, sensitivity, fantasy and a developed intuition.

Dealing with Neptune in my early years, I never could make a simple decision due to the fact I could lay out a multitude of correct answers for any given problem, and I could imagine situations that could never possibly show up.  The problem wasn’t making a decision, but it was which outcome would I really want, was the question.  Neptune made every answer beautiful and the right one.  I could be very tired and not be able to finish a project at hand when a whole new story line would pop in my head, from out of the blue.  This always drove me wild and made people think I was flighty.  As I grew older, I am not sure if it toned down, or did I learn to work with it better.  As my astrological knowledge increased I began to see something I found very amazing, as it was very true in my own chart, and I saw it happening in others.

That interesting tidbit was that any planet in the first house will influence and color the other planets in the natal chart, and possibly in other types of charts like the solar and lunar returns.  Neptune made all my other planets act as if they were under his magical influence, giving a Neptune type of effect to the different planets.  The following are my thoughts of how Neptune colored each of my planets.

Sun                  Spiritual high, flighty and not grounded or practical

Moon               Emotionally highly activated, melancholic heaven

Venus              Fantasy and love unrealistic and futuristic

Mercury           Constantly thinking out of the box

Mars                Unconventional outburst of energy

Saturn              Structure and path, always needing to be different

Uranus             Never the normal always the paranormal

Pluto                Rebirth and change, always a volcano of imagination

The colorings on some of the planets were quite drastic at times, and other colorings, were not noticeable, unless one really looked for it.  Depending on the circumstances and what was happening with the aspects, the colorings were like rainbows with a pot of gold at the end.  Discovering this I realized how much more diverse and interesting it made me as a person and as the aspects from the transits hit, it confirms how much influence the planets in the first house really had.  Next time you want to see a kaleidoscope of your personality, try seeing if you have any planets in the first house and how it affects the other planets.  And if there aren’t any planets, see how the ruler of the ascendant colors the other planets.  Enjoy the adventure, and learn more about yourself at the same time.

FSMysticKnot

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by syn on July 28, 2009 at 5:39 am

    This is beautiful. I love it.

    Reply

  2. Posted by MAGIC on July 28, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    WOW! Your intuitions cast the perfect net for holding the planets with the xolors of the Neptunian energy palette.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Deb on March 23, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I am neptune 1st house with libra ascendant and I KNOW exactly what you mean, there is always more to situations than others see, theres this dream quality bout so much in life, if it werent for my saturn in capricorn I have no doubt i would live my life in a state of illulsion and never touch reality. thanks for helping me feel more magic than lunatic haha!

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on March 23, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      Hi Deb
      Thanks for the comment and being able to relate. It gives us all hope we are not along. Appreciate it very much.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Golden Cherub on December 6, 2010 at 9:00 am

    It’s taken me years to sort out the purpose/value of my first house/asc neptune (sag rising, squaring my pisces moon and opp my 7th house Gemini sun and jupiter) – and I am still figuring it out! For many years I thought it made me weak (I have a aries SN) and all the “insights” I received into others and my environment were foggy and delusional at times. I now know that the clearer I get spiritually and the more in touch I am with my unconscious (cleaning it up so to speak) the clearer my neptunian impressions are and more accurate – so having it is turning out to be a major asset instead of a curse – hooray!

    Saturn is helping me out a lot with this – in Leo in the 8th trining neptune, so the more I get in touch with my true identity and transform whatever dross I’ve accumulated – the more grounded my neptune gets. I’ll be able to build solid structures from my dreams into reality, methinks.

    Thanks for blogging, I always enjoy reading your articles and find your insights very accurate and helpful. Always have something to chew on for awhile after I visit here!

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on December 6, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      Hi

      Thanks for the comment, it is deeply appreciated and it inspires me to continue on the journey. The moment we befriend these planets and realize they are here to help us on our journey of life, they will reveal their secrets to us. The problem is we are fighting against them, instead of working with them. We need to accept and allow their power to work through us to create the world we desire. I, myself am forever learning and working with these energies to continually improve my life and happiness, a journey that is never ending, but very rewarding. Please comment again, and let me know what you think.

      Regards and welcome to the journey,
      Lincoln

      Reply

  5. Posted by Amy Vir Sn Ari Mn Pis Ris on March 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    So what if you have retrograde Mars 3 degrees from your rising sign still in the first house? Both the rising and Mars in docile Pisces.

    How would that color the rest of the chart?

    Reply

    • Posted by linknjoe on March 25, 2011 at 10:10 am

      It is not correct and smart to judge a horoscope by a few aspects, as one always need to see the chart to see the subtle reactions from the aspects, signs and planets. To answer your question with the information given. How impulsive, reactive and the immediate or delay response to a situation and your thoughts and philosophy behind what you do, colors your emotions (Moon), feelings(Venus), essence (Sun), etc. Hope this helps to understand how subtle the planets work.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

